The following information has been provided by the Arkansas Crime Information Center:
Sex Offender Registration
Sex offenders are required to register in Arkansas. Details on the "Sex Offender Registration Act of 1997" can be found in Arkansas Code Annotated §12-12-901 -- 12-12-920.
Who is Required to Register?
- Any individual who is convicted of certain sex offenses and offenses against children.
- Any individual who was incarcerated, on probation or parole, or serving any other form of community supervision as the result of an adjudication of guilt for the listed offenses as of this Act's effective date.
- Any person who is acquitted on the grounds of mental disease or defect for the listed offenses.
- Any person who was required to register under the Habitual Child Sex Offender Registration Act, Arkansas Code Annotated §12-12-901.
- A sex offender moving to or returning to this state from another jurisdiction shall register with the local law enforcement agency having jurisdiction within 30 days of establishing residency.
Arkansas law also requires the offender to:
- Report to the local law enforcement agency within 10 days after release from incarceration or after the date of sentencing or within 3 days of moving into Arkansas from another state.
- Provide registration information, along with fingerprints and a photograph.
- Inform the Arkansas Crime Information Center in writing of any change in residence address within Arkansas not later than 10 days before establishing residency at a new address.
- Inform the Arkansas Crime Information Center in writing of any change in residence address to another state, and also to inform a designated law enforcement agency in the new state, not later than 10 days before establishing residency in the new state.
- Return a Verification of Residence address form every 6 months (every 3 months for a designated sexually violent predator).
- Remain registered for 15 years (lifetime for a sexually violent predator or if convicted of an aggravated sex offense or mutliple offenses) from the date of release from incarceration or being placed on parole or probation or other supervision.
- Release from these registration requirements may only be obtained from a court.
Failure to Register
A person who fails to register, who fails to report changes of address or fails to comply with assessment as required, shall be guilty of a Class D felony. Class D felonies are punishable by up to 6 years imprisonment and up to a $10,000 fine.
Registered Sex Offenders on the Web
All registered sex offenders in the State of Arkansas are required to submit to assessment by the Sex Offender Screening & Risk Assessment Program coordinated by the Arkansas Department of Correction. Each offender is assigned a risk level based on the results of the assessment. Offenders failing to submit to assessment are assigned default Risk Level 3.
Arkansas Code Annotated §12-12-913 (j)(1)(A), mandates that information on registered sex offenders determined to pose the highest level of risk to the public (Level 3 and Level 4), must be available on the Arkansas state website by January 1, 2004.
Based on information obtained from the risk assessment process, offenders are assigned the following levels: Level 1: Low Risk; Level 2: Moderate Risk; Level 3: High Risk; Level 4: Sexually Violent Predator.